The Weekly Scoundrel Presents – Star Wars: Uprising is SHUTTING DOWN

unnamed“Dear Player,

Despite the best efforts of our team here at Kabam, unfortunately, Star Wars: Uprising will soon be decommissioned. On November 17th, 2016, all Star Wars: Uprising servers will be shutting down permanently. As part of this shutdown, we will be shutting down payments on November 17th, 2016 to prevent additional payments from occurring. For information about the shutdown, please visit the FAQ HERE or your in-game message. We hope that you enjoyed Star Wars: Uprising, and would like to invite you to come check out one of Kabam’s other great mobile games, listed below. Finally,We would just like to again thank you for your commitment to Star Wars: Uprising. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
The Kabam Team”

So, just over a year after its full launch, Star Wars:  Uprising is going the way of Disney Infinity and getting shut down…it’s a little sad, even in this Star Wars-rich era, to see anything Star Wars-related get canned, especially after such a short run, but, at the same time, I’m a fairly huge Star Wars fan that tries to be involved with anything and everything Star Wars and I didn’t even play this game through…and if hardcore fans fall off the wagon, there has to be some kind of stellar hook to keep casual fans and/or gamers interested…unfortunately, Uprising just didn’t have that…for more on the quelling of the Uprising, we go to special gaming correspondent me, me:

Repetition
2900357-uprisingI am by no means a mobile gamer, so maybe repetition is just an accepted part of the experience, but, for me, the repetition in Uprising bordered on obscene. Basically every mission was exactly the same, save for a handful of different maps, mobs, and the occasional boss. Now, the repetition wasn’t so bad when you were actively involved in the story (at first), but when you were waiting for new story elements to open up or trying to beat back the Empire, all you had to do was literally repeat the same missions over and over and over and over…that aspect of the game design is why I started playing less, and, eventually, why I stopped playing altogether…for a while, I’d start up the app, play a mission or two, then put it away for a few days, rinse, repeat, but then a few days turned into weeks, which turned into months which turned into turning off notifications for the app because I was tired of seeing them (I never did delete the app, though, just in case)…

Lightsabers
lsuprisingOkay, full disclosure, by the time lightsabers were added, I was already done with the game so I don’t really know how they integrated them in, but, I mean, c’mon…this was supposed to be the first gaming experience of the new canon…and you’re gonna throw lightsabers into the mix in a remote system during the end of the Rebellion era? That’s jumping the shark. When I noticed my app had updated and that the icon now showed a character with a lightsaber I was naturally curious, so I started it up and found chat to be exactly as I expected:  an endless loop of some form of “how do I get a lightsaber?” I started having flashbacks to when Jedi were added to Star Wars Galaxies…*shudder*…it didn’t hit me then, but it should have, the writing was on the wall:  I like to think they didn’t intend to add lightsabers (and Force powers? Were there Force powers? That would just make things even worse…) when they sought out to create the game, but when players started dropping and the numbers weren’t looking favorable they had to think of something to draw people back, and, well, “let’s add lightsabers!” is a pretty easy fix…that was probably the inadvertent nail in the coffin, though, since, once you play that card, there’s not a whole lot left in the deck if things don’t turn around…and, apparently, things didn’t…

Mobile
smartphonesThe fact that Uprising was a mobile game basically doomed it for me before it even started. I have never stuck with and/or finished a mobile game, and it’s not something I ever see myself doing. Personally, there’s just something about a game that I play on my phone that doesn’t seem like a real game. It’s a way to pass time when you’re waiting for an appointment, on public transit, on a work break, etc. It’s not something you set aside time for because you enjoy the experience. (In case you happen to think otherwise, this is all my opinion; if you love mobile games then, frankly, I’m a little jealous of you because I’d like to enjoy them more, I just don’t. I don’t mean any offense or hard feelings, I’m just stating what is true for me, obviously not everyone agrees or there wouldn’t be 50 million mobile games.) I mean, in the old days, I’d take a few days off work after a new video game release so I could have time to pretty much do nothing but play; that’s not something I can even imagine doing for a mobile game. The technology gap between a phone and a computer and/or gaming console is just way too big. Sure, they have some games for phones that also come out for consoles, like Lego Star Wars:  The Force Awakens for example, but what you get on your phone is a fraction of what you get elsewhere. It’s almost like comparing Atari to a PS4; outside of “they’re both gaming consoles,” there is no comparison.

And there’s my two cents, ladies and gentlemen. Now, I know it seems like I’m some kind of hater, but I’m actually just angry that the game didn’t turn out the way I thought it would or could. If you go back and read my post from when the game first launched, you can see that I didn’t start out so negative. I actually really enjoyed my first couple months with the game, but it just got way more repetitive than entertaining after a while; it became a chore and not a game. But, I mean, regardless of anything I or anyone else says, the game is going away, and, obviously, I won’t miss it because I haven’t played it for quite some time…I guess the only thing that will change is that I’ll be able to go ahead and delete the game from my phone and free up some precious memory space…and, even though I just spent an entire post dissing it, it’ll still make me a little bummed to erase it…so, what do you think about Uprising shutting down? Did you play, or do you wish you would have now that it’s over? Let me know in the comments below and we’ll keep the conversation going, otherwise, I’ll see you next week…

Hit us up leave a comment please!!!

