TWS: Thinkin’ ‘Bout Ink – Han Solo #3

Marvel Star WarsIt’s one Han of a comic book day! (Sorry, I came up with that and it made me laugh so I used it…I know it’s bad, but I just couldn’t help myself.) And, in a shocking twist, almost all the questions from last week’s episode remain unanswered! Yeah, I know that’s not really shocking, I was being sarcastic…sometimes that doesn’t translate well without tone of voice and gratuitous eye-rolling…anyway, we did find out some things and moved the story along swimmingly, so it was definitely a good book; I’m just really curious about those glowing orb creatures, so I’m grumpy that remains unanswered (amg spoilers!)…but that’s enough of a lead-in, let’s get to the good stuff!

Han Solo #3
HanSolo3So the racers are captured by the Empire, and we quickly discover it’s not just so they can arrest Han for being a rebel, but so they might exert control over something that’s out of their control…and we know how the Empire hates that, so it makes perfect sense; however, what sort of doesn’t make sense is how easily Officer Tomine gives in to the odd, cloaked race coordinators when they make a light threat about possible fuel repercussions and basically just add “aw, c’mon”…maybe this Tomine was flexing his middle-management muscle and didn’t want to be responsible for causing a possible fuel shortage throughout the Empire, or maybe he’s just supposed to delay the race so the Falcon can be fitted with a tracker or something sinisterly sneaky like that (pretty sure I’m way overthinking this)…anyway, the race resumes, Han meets the weenie Duros they picked up, we’re (sort of) promised an answer to what the glowing orbs are, so that’s a huge reveal to look forward to, and, wait, what’s this, the Falcon takes damage? I didn’t see that coming, I thought for sure it’d make it through the whole ordeal unscathed…I also didn’t expect another racer to help out…I guess Han’s deep-seeded good-heartedness is rubbing off on people…and to add to the list of things I didn’t expect:  the light orb following Han takes out the race cameras for him, and their second pickup is some kind of feline species (possibly Cathar?) that has a score to settle with Chewie? I know I said it last time too, but “what the hell is going on?” I really can’t wait to see where this series goes; it’s quickly moving up my favorites ladder, and I’m bummed it’s only a mini…is it too late to switch it and Poe?

And cut! I know, it’s not a movie, but I couldn’t think of anything clever to say and I didn’t want to become too repetitive…anyway, pretty good book…like I said, it raises more questions than it answers, but I think good stories tend to do that…they leave you thinking instead of wrapping everything up in a nice bow…so, what’d you think? Are you as curious about the glowing orbs as I am, or could you care less? Do you think they’re neat, or an example of how the comics sometimes lean away from “Star Warsy” things? And what about the feline species, do you think it’s a new canon Cathar, or are they going to call them “Kittifolk” or something goofy that slaps you over the head with their inspiration (like Devaronians, for example)? Give the book a thorough second read and let me know what you think in the comments…or I’ll send an angry feline species fella after you by explaining how you’re the reason there’s not catnip left in the galaxy…you’d be in for more than cat scratch fever, that’s for sure…until next time, TWS out.

Hit us up leave a comment please!!!

