TWS: Thinkin’ ‘Bout Ink – Han Solo #2 + Poe Dameron #4

Marvel Star WarsOnce again I come before you, your highness…(+10 if you get the reference) Anyway, it’s a double mini-series week in comic book land, and, if I’m being honest, I’m looking forward to the Han Solo book about a million times more than Poe’s. Yeah, I know what you’re thinking, “but, Bryan, the Poe comic has more bearing on the new trilogy!” Well, I don’t care, and, besides, we don’t actually know if that’s true or not, neither series is over yet…and, I mean, Poe Dameron is just a poor man’s Han Solo anyway, so why not look more forward to the real thing? (Oh snap, shots fired.) Alright, before I offend anyone else, let’s get on with the show!

Han Solo #2
STAR-WARS-HAN-SOLO-#2This book starts out with some pretty intense action, and perhaps foretells of how Han comes up with the idea to float away with the garbage in Empire Strikes Back with his powering down move to avoid the mines. It also features several great Star Wars species, including a Dug with a warning, a possible Black Sun bodyguard female Falleen, a scaredy-cat Duros, a red-headed human that resembles Mara Jade (okay, mostly only in so much as she has red hair…but still!), and a Draethos-looking character that yells “Get out of here!” That’s a pretty good list for one comic…oh, and there’s the sentient(?) glowing orb that apparently takes a liking to Han…I’m definitely curious to see where that goes…and speaking of seeing where things go, how’s Han going to get out of the pickle he’s found himself in? And is that an Imperial that I should recognize, because I don’t and I’m going to feel like a failure of a fan if it’s supposed to be someone obvious…also, who are the weird dudes with the  funky outfits and hidden faces floating around looking at datapads? I guess, really, the moral of the story in this book is “what the hell is going on?” My only immediate idea is that the Empire has actually taken control of the Dragon Void race and is essentially using it as a spectacle to eradicate what they consider to be filth from the galaxy or some such nonsense…otherwise, I’m at a loss…most definitely looking forward to Han Solo #3 now though…and as is the common thread that binds all things, the wait continues…

Poe Dameron #4
Poe-4This was, without a doubt, the best Poe Dameron issue to date. He does mention the “egg business” once, but, aside from that, I didn’t really even think about it and simply engaged in the new story about Grakkus (who clearly didn’t adopt the common practice of exercising more in prison than out of prison…he’s really let himself go) and the prison. Also, I think either L’ulo is working as a quasi double agent for the First Order, but only because he’s trying to get something started, not because he’s an actual traitor, or they’re just trying to make you think that’s a thing when it’s really not (or I’m just reading too far into things again). I’ll be surprised if someone’s not a traitor though; I don’t think it’s in BB-8’s nature (or programming) to be wrong. But, moving on, what an interesting prison, eh? An almost complete 180 from the prison Leia tries to save in the Star Wars series:  anarchy vs. order. It’s quite an interesting concept that I’m, honestly, not 100% against, though we don’t have the luxury of a high-gravity planet to use in order to try to implement it in reality (plus, though it would be a neat experiment, it would never fly in real life). And what a pseudo surprise to find Terex there, right? I mean, it had to be him that paid off the guards…who else was it going to be? Maybe the would-be spy/double-agent, I guess, but I had it pegged for Terex the whole time…which begs two questions:  who was Terex before he joined the First Order, and what in the holy hell is Grakkus “bathing” in? He looks like he’s lounging in frying oil…anyway, I like how they’ve captured Poe’s witty banter from the film in this issue, especially in his last exchange with Grakkus; it’s a very “who talks first” type of thing that I think fits his character perfectly. So, I’m definitely jumping back on Poe Dameron band wagon; this was a great book, and I’m excited to see where it goes from here, and what kind of information Grakkus gives up about Luke and/or the Jedi.

And just like that, our fun-filled week of comics is already at an end…I know, it’s depressing, but there will be more, ladies and gentlemen, so turn those frowns upside down! Or something…anyway, what’d you think of this week’s books? Which did you enjoy more:  the messed up adventures of Han Solo, or the crazy tales of Poe Dameron? Were there any aspects of either book that you didn’t like (you know, like the whole “egg business” swing and miss from the last Poe Dameron)? Where do you think the stories will go from here? What do you think Han’s new shiny ball friend is, and what Jedi secrets do you think Grakkus might reveal? Could he explain to Poe about how the tree he grew up with was actually part of a Force tree? Or do you think Grakkus will remain locked up and never reveal anything? Give the books a thorough second read and let me know what you think in the comments…or I’ll send fat Grakkus to your house with explicit orders to sit on you until you post something both insightful and thought-provoking…oh that’s right, you don’t want that slimy, worm-ridden, piece of filth anywhere near you, I guarantee it…until next time, TWS out.

Hit us up leave a comment please!!!

