TWS: Thinkin’ ‘Bout Ink – The Force Awakens #1

Marvel Star WarsI know, I know, I’m a bit behind my regular, on-the-ball comic release day posting, but I’m on vacation, give me a break…anyway, this week we got a new first issue that should be the most familiar Star Wars comic to date:  The Force Awakens. So, I mean, I’m not sure how much more of an introduction is really necessary…I’ll go with none, none more…

The Force Awakens #1
Star_Wars_The_Force_Awakens_1_NotoI imagine the hardest part of creating a comic adaptation of The Force Awakens was deciding how to cut and paste the storyboards in a way that would fit in a miniseries, but wouldn’t end up feeling disjointed and necessitate knowing the story to fill in the gaps (because, c’mon, that’s just lazy). So far, I think they’re hitting the nail on the head. I especially like the introduction blurps for the characters that allow the story to start at a sprint rather than working up to it (though I do kind of wish they’d showed Kylo both stopping Poe’s blaster bolt in mid-air and felling Lor San Tekka, but I’m willing to bet there will be several omissions like that along the way; it’s sort of the nature of the beast). I’m curious to see whether or not the comic is pulled exclusively from the final cut of the film, or if there will be elements from the novel (which was based off the shooting script) sprinkled in for flavor…because, and I don’t see anyone disagreeing here, it would be amazing to see a visual representation of Chewie removing Unkar Plutt’s arm. I guess, as I say all the time, we’ll just have to wait and see…

And there you have it! To be honest, there wasn’t a whole lot to say since, as I mentioned, this is a story we are all quite familiar with (but I managed to say something anyway because, you know, that’s how I do). I’m definitely looking forward to seeing how the series plays out, what elements it will use, what it will leave behind, but, regardless of all that, it’s a fun way to revisit the incredible story of The Force Awakens. So, what do you lot think? Did you enjoy the representation, or could it have been better? Do you like the idea of a comic adaptation, or do you think it’s just a ploy to take your money? I’m letting you all off the hook without any sort of threat this week, but be prepared next time! Until then, TWS out.

Hit us up leave a comment please!!!

